Quick Help

The knowledgebase is a categorized collection of answers to frequently asked questions (FAQ) and articles. You can read articles in this category or select a subcategory that you are interested in.



 May 28-29 Update - New General Setting to remove User Group button for UGAs when adding users.

When a UG Admin adds a user, the Add User window has a User Group button which allows the admin to assign the new user to specific user groups.

The new general setting will allow this button to removed depending on the needs of a specific LMS.

Example, some LMSs use auto assignments based on registration fields to handle user assignment to user groups, and this button would not be necessary as a result.


The new General Setting can be found here:
General Settings > User Group Administration > Automatically determine new user's usergroup assignment


The new setting adheres to the following rules:

  • When checked:
    • UG Admins no longer see the User Group button when adding users in the Add New User window.
    • If a new user cannot be assigned to a user group based off the auto assignment rules, then the new user will be assigned to every usergroup that is assigned to the UG Admin that created the new user.
    • If the UG Admin is not assigned any user groups, and the new user can't be added based off of auto assignment rules, then the UG Admin will not be able to add a new user.

  • When unchecked:
    • UG Admin sees the User Group button when adding users
    • If a new user cannot be assigned to a user group based off auto assignment rules, then the UGA will be asked to pick a Usergroup (if they haven't already done so).
    • If the UG Admin is not assigned to any user groups, and the new user can't be added based off of auto assignment rules, then the UG Admin will not be able to add a user.
 
Was this article helpful? yes / no